Merit Badge by Andi Brandon

Posted: December 13, 2014 in Uncategorized

Movement Youth Ministry

Some of us (me included) fall into the “merit badge trap.” Believe me, I am no girl scout, but I do know that often times I wear the different roles in my life as badges and find my worth in them. Unlike merit badges though, sometimes the badges we give ourselves carry the weight of mistakes or disappointments. Sometimes we carry on endless pursuits to obtain more badges, we stress ourselves out and we get burnt out. Sometimes we look at the badges we have and compare them to others, rejoicing if we have more or become frustrated if we have less.

Growing up (and even now at times) I found myself caught up in that trap. My identity became wrapped up in all of the things that I did or was. I’m a daughter, a sister, a teacher, a youth leader…but I’m also a human, so sometimes, I’m a…

View original post 219 more words

Leave a Reply

