I Quit Social Media (A Stream of Consciousness)

Posted: December 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

Process of Thoughts

Let me start by saying it’s not the medium, it’s me (…how every bad breakup occurs in the history of humanity. Yeah!).

Social media can be an undeniably useful tool.

But it can be dangerously addictive for an extroverted introvert.

I’ve been on social media for a long time now. If we’re going to include sites like Myspace here, then I’ve been on it since middle school. I can remember the hours I spent on it, trying to make myself look cool for all my friends–hours I didn’t spend getting to know myself because instead I was trying to become who my friends were.

When I started writing in college and grad school I started a Twitter and developed a solid following through my journalism career.

Starting in late high school I used Facebook almost every day to keep track of friends and family,  a use that continued to grow…

View original post 1,297 more words

Leave a Reply

